Bakes · Cakes

Bake-a-bake

It is that time of the year again, when N wears his student cap. Other than the fact that he has to work double hard juggling between work and school, it also means I start to feel weird about returning to an empty house and end up watching every uploaded malayalam movie on youtube. So this time before it hits me and I take comfort in the language I know next best to English, I have decided to find my niche with cooking. What’s new you ask?

Well… Firstly N’s evening classes famish him to no end. Bananas help, but he being a non-fan of snack bars and the like, I used to pack cookies/biscuits et all for him, so that his evening isn’t spent in the company of a growling stomach.

So, I have decided to bake more often (something to the tune of once every ten days) and in the bargain get better with my baking too. And since I am going to bake often, I will be forced to stick to healthy bakes, which in turn is a good thing, don’t you think?

I will be posting my exploits with baking and hopefully I manage to do it once per week.

Last evening turned out to be the first, a fresh start. And I used my new hand mixer too!! So here is to healthy maple walnut cake, that is keeping N’s tummy happy tonight —

Ingredients –

Whole wheat flour – 1 ½ cups

Brown Sugar or splenda – ¼ cup

Maple syrup – ¼ cup

Baking powder – 1tsp

Eggs whites – 2

Canola or sunflower oil – ¼ cup

Fat free Butter milk – ½ cup

Shelled walnuts – handful

Procedure –

Implied really!! 🙂

Beat/blend/mix the above ingredients.

Pour it into a 9 inch loaf pan, lightly greased with a 1cm shaving of butter.

Bake at 350F for 20 min or until the toothpick comes clean.

I must vouch, that there was no compromise on taste much to my surprise 🙂

One thought on “Bake-a-bake

  1. Walnut cake and jus egg whites? Pretty healthy sounding I must say ! And since (R)oomie is going for evening classes on an empty stomach – this healthy baking is good practice for me too before the growling gets too loud 🙂

Leave a Reply

