Fitness · Walking

Walk-a-ton!

Yesterday, Sunday, the 1st of May 2011, I participated in a 20 mile walking event. I was flanked by two lovely ladies, who are veterans of this walk, for A it was her second and M, her third! Since the time i had registered, I was warned by other fitness-drunk friends that walking is not something that is natural or easy by any standards.

I had not taken their advice lightly; on the contrary, I even suffered cold feet days before the event! When A told me on our walk, that she was almost about to drop out the night before, she was kept at bay for she thought I would be the persuasive one and couldn’t be convinced of backing out!! I smiled a little inward, for I was as petrified and may have needed no convincing at all πŸ™‚

All said and done, we braved it and did it! And are willing to go next year too πŸ™‚ I had live tweeted the walk through pics and also cribbed and cringed through its turfs. So a couple of loo breaks, a 15 min lunch break, few blistered toes and inflammation laden posterior knee muscles supple and succulent at the moment, I survived and thanks to A and M, we kept it going without letting up! πŸ™‚

Along the walk. This one was after 5.5M

So there I am leaving a few notes for anyone else braving a “long-walk” like they really mean it, here is what i gathered from mine –

  • Carry atleast 2 pairs of extra socks. I carried only one extra pair and I could have done with another for sure!
  • Moisturize your toes and feet thoroughly before starting out. Moisturize them every time you change socks. I ended up with supple squishy toes from the rubbing. That can be avoided!
  • Don’t bog yourself down with a heavy shoulder bag, just carry a light waist pouch.
  • A lot depends on weather. Check how the day will unfold for you are sure to walk for a long time and dress in layers.
  • Whether a hot day or cold, stick to micro fiber workout clothes and avoid cotton. If you can get micro fiber socks, even better!
  • Stretch during water stops, just to give the muscles some room.
  • Don’t forget to use a sun screen, you are going to be outdoors for almost 5 to 6 hours!
  • Carry something that be a sugar-shot! M’s godiva chocolate nuggets got us through the 1.5M to the lunch stop. Dates or banana work too!
  • Carry a few band-aids and alcohol dabs, in case of blisters.
  • Do not take walking lightly. It is no everyday easy stuff to do the long one. Keep yourself physically active for atleast 4 weeks before the event to not feel murderous! If you can, find a walking guide and stick to it. I didn’t. I felt it might have helped me do better.
  • Whenever you think enough is enough go for this mantra – “ComeOn Legs. One more mile!” πŸ™‚ We were close to quitting atleast 3 times.
  • Find a few like-minded friends for company and trudge your way to finish with a smile of hope! πŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

