Bakes · Cakes · Fruits · Preserves and Pickles · Recipes

Happiness is a strawberry field…

I realised yesterday what a miracle a strawberry lover and chocolate lover could make together! a tiny being, peacefully asleep and fragile in all her innocent musings. Yes! I coddled a 36 hour old, managed to hold her just fine, considering my discomfort with babies, and even managed to fall in love with her as she slept in my arms!

So where does all this figure in a strawberry field you ask? Well it doesn’t! My date with strawberries happened to be on the same day I met the little princess and I decided to make it special! πŸ™‚ So without further digressions here are some pictures and recipes I concocted from my one hour of strawberry pickings!

Strawberry Cake

This was a treat for the happy occassion and welcoming the new person in our midst. So I was pretty generous with the butter and sugar. So, its not for you if you are on a diet!

Ingredients

  • 1 quart fresh strawberries (12 to 15)
  • all-purpose flour – 2 1/2 cups
  • baking powder – 1 1/2 tsp
  • Eggs – 2
  • Butter – 1/2 cup in room temperature
  • Sugar – 1 1/2 cups
  • vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Procedure –

  • Set the oven to preheat to 350F
  • Clean the strawberries and smash is with the back of a spatula.
  • Mix the flour and baking powder. set aside.
  • In another bowl, blend butter, eggs, sugar and vanilla essence.
  • To this blend, combine the flour and strawberries
  • Bake in an 8 inch baking bowl for 20 to 25 min or until the toothpick comes clean.

The cake was a hit. So definitely try it the next time you have some fresh strawberries at home. Serve it with a dollop of icecream and whip cream! πŸ™‚

So the strawberry tryst didn’t end there. I have another 2 quarts. I used one of them to make preserves. The copyrights for this recipe goes to the lovely Anu Menon (@myonlyfacade).

Simple strawberry preserve

Ingredients –

Overflowing quart of fresh strawberries ( 20 to 24 )

SugarΒ  – 1 to 1.5 cups

Lemon juice from 1 large lemon

Procedure –

Clean and cut the strawberries.

Mix the lemon juice and strawberries in heavy bottom vessel and cook on a medium flame for 15 min.

Now add the sugar and smash the strawberries with the ladle and stir consistently.

Do the freeze test and if done let it cool down. It took me close to 30 min to reach the jam/tart consistency.

Transfer to a glass jar when it has cooled down completely.

I didn’t realise it was so easy to make this yummy spread! I can’t wait to make a tart or layer cake with the preserve! Sometime next week! πŸ™‚

And for the last quart of strawberries left in my fridge, its going into my cornflakes for breakfast next week! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Happiness is a strawberry field…

  1. omg Div!!! i jus am in comeplete love with the last pic… somehow it’s all sparkly!!! * * * And what a beautiful start to the post too! reminds me of our ‘talk’ πŸ˜‰

  2. I just made a divine strawberry cake today too! And totally get what you said about babies – I felt uncomfortable with babies until Kanishk. Its so easy to fall for them though…

Leave a Reply

